Stocksy removes published content to ensure we offer clients a reliable source of contemporary and fresh visuals. As the collection continues to expand and age, it is increasingly vital that we commit to a process of ongoing re-evaluation strategically focused on evolution.
All removals are done carefully and informed by data to have minimal impact on any individual portfolio or the overall collection. We remove content weekly on Mondays. The average is about 150 assets per week.
We regularly reassess our process through data and feedback. Currently, our criteria are:
- In the collection > 5 years
- No sales or comps in > 3 years
- Assessed by the Content Team
We don't remove all older content that hasn't sold. Some of the reasons we may decide to remove content include the following:
- The content is no longer in line with Stocksy's Content Policy
- The technical or aesthetic quality, styles, concepts, or technologies depicted do not align with clients' current expectations and can't be updated
Prioritization is based on a combination of the following:
- How often it's being shown to clients
- How long since a client has shown interest
- How far it veers from our Content Policy or creative briefs (for example, culturally offensive content may be removed immediately)
Why don't you remove all content at the same time?
Removals are based on data; if we left some content published, that means clients have more recently purchased, saved, or interacted with those assets.
You can remove the whole series if that is your preference.
How do I know if my content will be removed?
We only have a way to notify you once your content is removed. However, you can proactively review your portfolio by exploring IM filters, like:
What if it can be fixed?
If your content can be improved to meet our current standards (for example, with updated processing), we'll send it back with a note inviting you to resubmit the file. We'll also work with you to improve your metadata if we notice it might not be helping you find the right eyes.
What if I disagree?
We send a standardized decline notification for efficiency but invite anyone affected to reach out if they have questions, want more specific feedback, or disagree with the deactivation.
Where can I see my culled content?
Your declines will appear in your daily email, and you can also review them in Image Manager.